Ask Haute Blonde

I received my very first Ask Haute Blonde question a couple of days ago! Not only is it the first question, but it was asked my a dear, old friend of mine! Because I’m so excited about this new venture on my blog, I decided I would devote a whole post to it.

Question:
Hey! It’s Janiece πŸ™‚ It is so funny that you put this on your blog because I have been wanting to ask you for help! I want to go on a mini shopping spree before my student teaching starts in the spring. I was going to go to TJ Maxx, I have never shopped there before so I wasn’t sure. I don’t have a ton of money to spend, but I want to get the essentials that will make me stand out (in a good way) πŸ™‚ let me know what your thoughts are!

Answer:
Hi Janiece! I’m so happy I can help!! When trying to build a wardrobe, especially for a specific style, the most important things to get are staples that you can mix and match! Since you will be doing student teaching, you want pieces that are modest and professional but fun and fashionable! Think knee-length skirts (like pencil skirts), shells (tops that go under blazers or cardigans), blazers and slacks. You will also need a great pair of shoes that can match many different outfits! A pair of neutral flats can go with anything. Even a small wedge, like a pair of black TOMS wedges, will give you a little height and will keep you comfortable throughout the day. I think TJ Maxx is a great place to start looking for pieces. You can also try Kohl’s, Marshalls, Loft, ModCloth, J.Crew Factory (my favorite!) and GUESS Factory Store.

Here are some examples of outfits and pieces I think would work:

Image

This is the funnest shell I’ve ever laid my eyes on! The jeweled neckline spices up the plain white top from J.Crew Factory. It would pair perfectly with a cardigan or a blazer!

kkkk

This dusty rose a-line skirt from J.Crew Factory is such a pretty color and long enough for student teaching.

ask4

I’ve been obsessing over these T-Strap flats from Sole Society for a while now. They would look adorable with the skirt above!

Image

These petite slacks are from Dillard’s and since they’re black, they can be mixed and matched with any top. The best part? Only $30!!

Image

This white oxford top is another great shell choice! The cream color is so versatile. It’s only $19.99 from TJ Maxx.

loft22

Ahhh! I’ve never actually been a cardigan fan, but the color PLUS the bow?! I couldn’t pass up showing you this one from the Loft. It’s on sale right now – $35 from $59.50 – and is a petite fit.. Perfect for you!

Image

Here’s another example of a skirt! This one is a bit expensive, but just gives you an idea of a versatile piece for your wardrobe. It’s a great length and the bow is precious. I found this skirt at Shabby Apple.

top

This adorable peplum top is from ModCloth. It would look so nice paired with the pencil skirt below.

skirt

Pencil skirts can be found almost anywhere! I love the quality of this one from J.Crew Factory.
flats

The pointed toe of these black flats will make your legs look longer. They can go with skirts, dresses and pants. Plus – only $29.99 from ModCloth!

ask111

These wedges are another shoe option for any of the outfits above! They add a bit of height and are low enough to keep your feet comfortable for those long days.

Image

For the mornings you wake up late and need something to just throw on, this dress is perfect! The length is perfectly modest and the polka dots are adorable. I found this little beauty on Shabby Apple.

I also found the blouse version of this dress on sale for $39! Check it out here.

Remember, these are all just suggestions! Pieces like these can be found at many different department stores in a variety of colors. Since you are on a budget, buying pieces that you LOVE one at a time can really be helpful and won’t completely deplete your wallet.

I hope you find this helpful!

XO,
Haute Blonde

2 thoughts on “Ask Haute Blonde

Leave a Reply

